The Cabbage Soup Diet

Tomorrow, I’m going to start The Cabbage Soup Diet with my family.

This is how it goes:

Day 1: As many fruits as you’d like except bananas and as much cabbage soup as you want.

Day 2: As many vegetables as you’d like except corn, peas, beans, and potato except one for dinner, and cabbage soup.

Day 3: Both fruits and vegetables except bananas and potatoes and other vegetables stated above, and cabbage soup.

Day 4: Bananas, skim milk, and cabbage soup.

Day 5: 10oz of chicken, up to 6 tomatoes, and cabbage soup.

Day 6: 10oz of chicken, vegetables, and cabbage soup.

Day 7: Brown rice, vegetables and cabbage soup.

The problem is that I work out a lot, so this diet might be too low-calorie unless I keep eating until I reached a minimum of 1200 calories. I have personal training sessions on Tuesday and Thursday (Veggie and Banana day). All other days I’m going to take it easy on the exercise and just go walking outside at the reservoir.

On Tuesday, since I usually average at around 700 calories at the gym with my personal trainer, I’m going to add some chicken to my salads to add some calories into the diet. Obviously, this wont be enough, but if I eat large salads frequently throughout the day, hopefully I can reach a net of at least 1200 calories. (so I need to eat around 1900+ calories of veggies!)

On Thursday, I plan on eating around 10 bananas (1300 calories) and at least 1+1/2 cup of skim milk (for 2 banana milk shakes) which will bring my total intake to around 1450 calories, plus around 4 cups of cabbage soup, which brings it all up to at least 1700 calories.

I’m doing this diet as a cleanse – also to motivate me to stop binging on unhealthy stuff. After yesterday, eating a lot of chocolate and ice-cream made me not look at it the same way. I satisfied the cravings, I felt guilty, and now I’m ready to move on. I don’t want to eat it anymore so I guess that’s good and it helps a lot.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to post up daily blog posts about it and my journey through this week. When this week is over, on Monday, we are going to Bali for one full week. They have a gym there at the Marriott Courtyard so I’m sure I’ll be able to go for at least an hour a day (to make up for the delicious food we’ll be eating!) I’ll also keep a food diary which I hope to post up on my blog.

I’m sure nobody is reading this, but I do want to make sure I’m motivated to post things up. I’m really new at this whole blogging thing, except when I had a tumblr account a long time ago, but that was all pictures. Now, this is actually me. Posting things up. Scary. 

Anyways, I’m pretty excited to start this diet. I’ve done it before for around 4 days (not followed completely though since I ate rice because my parents told me to eat more). And I didn’t lose weight (duh!). So hopefully, this time, it’ll be successful.

I’m aware that this is a low-fat, low-calorie diet, therefore I know I need to eat a lot more and not go so hardcore on my exercise. I will try my best to eat enough food so that I don’t pass out. My goal is just to lost 2kg, even if it’s just to get the gunk out of my system after a couple of weeks of slacking off and not doing so well.

Cross your fingers and wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

