Healthy Chocolate Pancakes + Strawberry-Chocolate Yogurt Sauce

Every week, I look forward to Sundays simply because I can give my parents an excuse to make a new batch of pancakes, despite the frozen ones chilling in the freezer.

This morning, like every other morning, I craved some chocolate. Chocolate Pancakes? The first time I tried another recipe of chocolate pancakes, it was almost disastrous. It called for a mashed banana, which I don’t think mixed very well with the chocolate pancake batter because the end result came out too… Banana-y.

So I made up my mind to not add banana into my recipe.

I thought back to all previous pancake recipes that I’ve made. What makes them fluffy, what makes them stick, what makes them thin, what makes them thick. So, I tweaked gingergirl‘s honey yogurt pancakes and made them into chocolate yogurt pancakes. Then, while trying to think of a healthy frosting, I just figured some chocolate yogurt would work nicely. However, I didn’t have chocolate yogurt! So I needed to make my own. Running out of my tub of Paul’s 99.8% fat-free plain yogurt, I desperately rampaged through my fridge looking for the solution.

And there I saw it. 98.5% fat-free strawberry yogurt. Strawberry Chocolate Yogurt? Why not?

Image

Ingredients:

For Pancakes

•3 tablespoons wholemeal flour

•1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder

•1/2 teaspoon baking powder

•1/4 teaspoon baking soda

•4 packets of stevia zero-calorie sweetener

•1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

•1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

•3 egg whites

•90g (4 tablespoons) plain yogurt

For Strawberry-Chocolate Yogurt sauce

•1/2 cup strawberry yogurt

•3 tablespoons cup-for-cup stevia

•1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder

Directions:

1. In a bowl, combine the first 7 ingredients of the pancake mixture. Make sure they are well combined.

2. In a smaller bowl, whisk 3 egg whites until it starts to bubble a little bit. Then, mix in yogurt and continue whisking.

3. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just combined and do not over mix. Then, leave the batter undisturbed for 5 minutes.

4. Meanwhile, mix all of the strawberry-yogurt sauce ingredients into a bowl and mix well.

5. Grease pan with PAM cooking spray or a little bit of oil. Heat the pan until it’s hot enough (you will know if when you splash a little bit of water on the pan, it will immediately sizzle and evaporate). Lower heat to medium.

6. Spoon in 1 heaping tablespoon of batter onto the pan. My pan was able to fit around 3 pancakes but each pan may be different. Cook on each side for 3 minutes and then flip. Let it cook for an additional 3 minutes. Transfer to plate.

7. Once all pancakes are finished cooking (my batter made around 6), layer it like you want to. (e.g. pancake, yogurt, pancake, yogurt, etc.)

8. Enjoy!

Image

Leave a Reply

